• OpenBSD as a workstation

From MeaTLoTioN@21:1/158 to All on Mon Jul 12 20:27:03 2021
    Hey All,

I am writing this message to you using SyncTERM which I compiled on my new OpenBSD laptop. I have been messing with OpenBSD for work on servers for a few years, and I finally decided to give it a go to see if I can make it work as a workstation too.

I have installed OpenBSD 6.9, i3-gaps, i3blocks (from source), SyncTERM (from source), and a few other things so far and it's working fantastically up to this point.

I will need to use it for a good month or so to fully figure out all the applications I would like to use, and my work flow, but this is looking good so far.

It's super quick on my laptop, very resource friendly, and much less bloated than any Linux installation I have used thus far.

Currently, neofetch tells me I have 245 packages (from pkg_info), so very light weight compared to my desktop running Ubuntu 20.04 with 3322 packages installed (dpkg).

What are your thoughts about OpenBSD? Have you used it? Would you use it? Should you use it? Should I use it?

Would love to see what you all think about this (brave/stupid) project I have started.

---
    |14Best regards,
    |11Ch|03rist|11ia|15n |11a|03ka |11Me|03aTLoT|11io|15N

|07── |08[|10eml|08] |15ml@erb.pw |07── |08[|10web|08] |15www.erb.pw |07───┐ |07── |08[|09fsx|08] |1521:1/158 |07── |08[|11tqw|08] |151337:1/101 |07┬──┘ |07── |08[|12rtn|08] |1580:774/81 |07─┬ |08[|14fdn|08] |152:250/5 |07───┘
    |07── |08[|10ark|08] |1510:104/2 |07─┘

--- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2020/12/04 (Linux/64)
    * Origin: thE qUAntUm wOrmhOlE, rAmsgAtE, uK. bbs.erb.pw (21:1/158)
  • From Zip@21:1/202 to MeaTLoTioN on Tue Jul 13 07:40:22 2021
    Hello MeaTLoTioN!

On 12 Jul 2021, MeaTLoTioN said the following...
    I am writing this message to you using SyncTERM which I compiled on my
    new OpenBSD laptop. I have been messing with OpenBSD for work on

That's great!

very light