• External Program Menus

From Michael Long@VERT to alt.bbs.synchronet on Mon Oct 5 21:20:37 2020
    From Newsgroup: alt.bbs.synchronet

Is there a way to have multiple levels of external programs? I'm guessing not but I thought I would ask. And if not, what options might I have?

Right now I'm categorizing my doors by genre. But I would love to give users more options as there are so many different ways to categorize them... by author, by last year updated, by system type, by inter bbs, by simulatenous users, etc.

I could forsee it happening by a menu system, or by having one list that could be filtered.

I'd love to hear ideas on how this might be accomplished. I'm not a C programmer at all but could probably come up with something in Javascript given enough time.
    --- Synchronet 3.18c-Win32 NewsLink 1.113
    ■ Synchronet ■ Vertrauen ■ Home of Synchronet ■ [vert/cvs/bbs].synchro.net
  • From Digital Man@VERT to Michael Long on Mon Oct 5 21:38:23 2020
    Re: External Program Menus
    By: Michael Long to alt.bbs.synchronet on Mon Oct 05 2020 05:20 pm

Is there a way to have multiple levels of external programs? I'm guessing not but I thought I would ask. And if not, what options might I have?

Right now I'm categorizing my doors by genre. But I would love to give users more options as there are so many different ways to categorize them... by author, by last year updated, by system type, by inter bbs, by simulatenous users, etc.

I could forsee it happening by a menu system, or by having one list that could be filtered.

I'd love to hear ideas on how this might be accomplished. I'm not a C programmer at all but could probably come up with something in Javascript given enough time.

Yes, xtrn_sec.js is already in JS and you could certainly refactor it to displays groups and sub-groups of external programs, or support searching/filtering/sorting based on whatever criteria you come up with.

digital man

Rush quote #57: