• What was your first programming language?

From eric@VERT/PERIODIC to All on Thu Jul 18 22:30:00 2013
    Hello, I am Eric and I'm new to BBS. But I'm not really new to programming and I just had to ask what your first programming language was. (Sorry if this is a repost).

I personally learned Microsoft BASIC first, because that was the only language my DOS system could interpret. And it was just a good time.

For that reason many programmers think I'm "broken" because BASIC teaches horrible practice and sloppy technique.

So what did you guys first learn?

And for the record, I now know many languages, such as C, Java, Ruby, Python, and C++.

---
    ■ Synchronet ■ A fun BBS with nothing to prove.
  • From eric@VERT/PERIODIC to All on Fri Jul 19 01:17:01 2013
    Hello, I am Eric and I'm new to BBS. But I'm not really new to programming and I just had to ask what your first programming language was. (Sorry if this is a repost).

I personally learned Microsoft BASIC first, because that was the only language my DOS system could interpret. And it was just a good time.

For that reason many programmers think I'm "broken" because BASIC teaches horrible practice and sloppy technique.

And for the record, I now know many languages, such as C, Java, Ruby, Python, and C++.
    ------------------------
    eric
    Periodic BBS - periodiccorp.com

---
  • From Draco@VERT/LOKISDEN to eric on Fri Jul 19 14:59:03 2013

Commodore BASIC on my old C=64. Then Apple BASIC on the Apple IIe. I've been dabbling in python, PHP, and now javascript.

--Draco

---
    ■ Synchronet ■ My Brand-New BBS
  • From eric@VERT/PERIODIC to Draco on Fri Jul 19 16:35:10 2013
    Re: Re: What was your first programming language?
    By: Draco to eric on Fri Jul 19 2013 10:59 am

Commodore BASIC on my old C=64. Then Apple BASIC on the Apple IIe. I've been dabbling in python, PHP, and now javascript.

--Draco